header CDGA

21st CDGA

Host, Kate Walsh

21st CDGA Details


Kate Walsh


Career Achievement – Ruth E. Carter

Spotlight – Glenn Close

Distinguished Collaborator – Ryan Murphy

Distinguished Service – Betty Pecha Madden

Excellence in Contemporary film

Winner: Crazy Rich Asians – Mary E. Vogt

Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again – Michele Clapton

Ocean’s 8 – Sarah Edwards

Red Sparrow – Trish Summerville

A Star Is Born – Erin Benach

Widows – Jenny Eagan

Excellence in Sci- Fi / Fantasy Film

Winner: Black Panther – Ruth E. Carter

Aquaman – Kym Barrett

The Avengers: Infinity War – Judianna Makovsky

The Nutcracker and the Four Realms – Jenny Beavan

A Wrinkle in Time – Paco Delgado

Excellence in Period Film

Winner: The Favourite – Sandy Powell

BlacKkKlansman – Marci Rodgers

Bohemian Rhapsody – Julian Day

Mary Poppins Returns – Sandy Powell

Mary Queen of Scots – Alexandra Byrne

Excellence in Contemporary Television

Winner: The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story – Lou Eyrich & Allison Leach

Grace and Frankie – Allyson Fanger

The Romanoffs – Janie Bryant & Wendy Chuck

Sharp Objects – Alix Friedberg

This Is Us – Hala Bahmet

Excellence in Sci- Fi / Fantasy Television

Winner: Westworld – Sharen Davis

American Horror Story: Apocalypse – Paula Bradley & Lou Eyrich

The Handmaid’s Tale – Ane Crabtree

A Series of Unfortunate Events – Cynthia Summers

Star Trek: Discovery – Gersha Phillips

Excellence in Period Television

Winner: The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Donna Zakowska

The Alienist – Michael Kaplan

GLOW – Beth Morgan

The Man in the High Castle – Catherine Adair

Outlander – Nina Ayres & Terry Dresbach


Winner: RuPaul’s Drag Race – Zaldy Goco for RuPaul

Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert – Paul Tazewell

The Late Late Show with James Corden – Lauren Shapiro

Saturday Night Live – Tom Broecker & Eric Justian

So You Think You Can Dance – Marina Toybina

Excellence in Short Form Design

Winner: Childish Gambino: “This is America” – Natasha Newman-Thomas

Adidas: “See My Creativity” – Bonnie Stauch

Elton John – Farewell Yellow Brick Road: The Legacy – Charlie Altuna

Justin Timberlake: “Supplies” Directed by Dave Meyers – Ami Goodheart

Nespresso: “The Quest” – Jenny Eagan

Star Trek: Short Treks, “The Brightest Star” – Gersha Phillips